Please read the poem at the end of this post.. Beware it is a tear jerker

I Guess Patience Does Pay Off

I am not by nature a very patient person. In fact I do not think that there is an ounce of patience in my entire body. I say that but recently I have been trying to practice patience, or at least something like it. I love purses. Big ones, fat ones, little ones, skinny ones, flat ones, I am sure that you get the picture. Still even as much as I love them, I am a picky purse lover.

The perfect purse has to meet my needs and my needs are junk. I have to have a pocket for my spare keys, and a place for my keys that I do not have to search for. Same goes for my cell phone, day planner (Which I am not sure why I carry it around because most of the time I forget to look at it.) then there is my personal stuff like lip gloss, perfume etc.  Also I need a place for my spare change. I have a habit of dumping it all into the bag and so I really like to have a deep pocket that is easy to get to and of course I need a good place for my wallet and an extra hiding spot for my money.

I am weird but it works for me.  Once my wallet was stolen and it was a pain in my butt to lose everything plus my cash and I said I would not do that again. So I have a seperate place in my purse that I use for my big bills. In my wallet I keep less than $20.00 and most of that is singles. If my wallet gets stolen the culprit will not have all my cash, drivers license or other important information.  On the other hand if my purse is stolen or lost… Well then I am in for a hassle.

Anyway I have had my eye on this one particular purse for awhile now. I wouldn’t buy it because it was too expensive, and then it was Christmas and I was watching my budget and so it went, but everytime I went to the store I looked at that purse and wished it would go on sale.  Yesterday I was at the store and wanting that purse so bad. I was lusting for it… Dreaming of it…. I wanted it so bad that I could taste it… Yes, all of that for just a purse. Not even a name brand purse.  One of the sales girls came over and mentioned that I can always be found in the handbag isle. I was telling her about my purse obsession, confessing I was waiting for it to go on sale before I bought it and she said, “Well we are doing inventory now, everything 6 months or older is going on sale. Let’s see what this rings up.”  It rang up to be…… Drum Roll please…… $1.00 and that was with tax. A dollar… I could not believe it… My faith in destiny and carma and all that stuff was renewed.  I never get breaks like this. I mean never. I am always either a day late or a dollar short. My patience was rewarded. It paid off.  Alright purse story is related so on to other news.

We had a few hours of severe weather. The news has been talking about it for a few days now and last night was bad, but not as bad as the weather center had originally thought that it was going to be. They forcasted us to have winds and wind gusts in excess of 70 to 80 mph. We had some really high winds, but they never reached that intensity level. Thankfully.  I had as much prepared as possible. I had my meds, candles, flashlights,  food and water and the dogs on their leashes, and the mattress from my bed in the hallway. It came within 5 miles or less of us. It tore up some trees and knocked down some old barns and houses that were unoccupied I heard. I haven’t seen any damage in my yard or home, so we were lucky.  I have a feeling that this is going to be another bad storm season. Last year was the worse season in decades. From all of the winter rain, all of the rain from up north, and all the super cells we had last year, no wonder it all flooded the way that it did.

I am so ready to start working in my yard again. It is too early to plant but it is time to start cleaning up and deciding where I am going to put in new beds. I am redoing the front of the house this year. I have a rock garden and it is going to be moved. I didn’t get a chance to enjoy it last year and this winter I have been staring at it and decided I would rather have it out back or at the side of the house.

I have got to get my roses in the ground no later than the last of April if I want them to be hardy this year. I am thinking of planting wild roses that will twine around my front fence line. This year I hope it all will survive. It was heart breaking  last year to see all that we had planted destroyed.  I need some ideas. I will just have to get out there with some of my designs and planning. I guess that I will go ahead and put in some wild flower beds in front of the deck. We were going to expand the deck out a bit more, but it looks like that is going to have to wait for a little longer, so I need something to hide the front of the deck for now and wild flowers will be perfect there.  I lost all of my gardening books in the flood, so I need to go online and research native plants for this area. I know most of them, but there are a few that I am not totally sure that would survive in this climate or if they need sun or shade. Research should be something to fill my time now that I am not working.

And now I have one last thing to share and I will get off and do some house cleaning.  I found this at work, when I was working.  I am sure that many of you have seen this. It made it’s way around the internet I assume for a long time. I had not seen it and when I read it, I just boo hooed. But if after reading this and you aren’t moved, then I am sorry for you. I feel that tears is just what this calls for. And here it is….

The Final Inspection

The Soldier stood and faced God,  Which must always come to pass.  He hoped his shoes were shining.  Just as brightly as his brass.

“Step forward now Soldier,  How shall I deal with you?  Have you always turned the other cheek?  To my Church have you been true?

The Soldier squared his shoulders and said,  “No Lord I guess I ain’t.

Because those of us who carry guns, Can’t always be a saint.

I’ve had to work most Sundays.  And at times my talk was tough,

And sometimes I have been violent,  Because the world is awfully rough.

But I never took a penny , That wasn’t mine to keep,

Though I worked a lot of overtime, When the bills got too steep.

And I never passed a cry for help Though at times I shook with fear;

And sometimes God forgive me, I’ve wept unmanly tears.

I know I don’t deserve a place Among the people here.

They never wanted me around Except to calm their fears.

If youv’e a place for me here Lord It needn’t be so grand.

I never expected or had to much But if you don’t I’ll understand.

There was a silence all around the throne Where the saints had often trod,

As the Soldier waited quietly For the judgment of his God.

“Step forward now you Soldier You’ve borne your burdens well.

Walk peacefully on Heaven’s streets, You’ve done your time in Hell….

Author Unknown

This just tears me up, and I am not here to make anyone cry, but if you know of a Soldier, man or woman who has served his or her country, think of them and understand that they do not all have the opportunity to do the things that we take for granted every day.

And remember….    It is the Soldier, not the reporter Who has given us the freedom of the press.

It is the Soldier, not the poet Who has given us the freedom of speech.

It is the Soldier, not the politicians That ensures our right to Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness.

It is the Soldier who salutes the flag. Who serves beneath the flag and Whose coffin is draped by the flag.

If it wern’t for the United States Military, there would be NO United States of America….

Please take the time to offer the smallest token of regognition and appreciation for our Military and remember…. These Colors Don’t Run!

I do not know who sent this out originally, I am just glad that I came across this copy and have the freedom to share it.    Have a great day to all………..

Leave a Reply

