Shiner!!

My Very First Black Eye….

I have a shiner… not a big one, but never the less it is a still a shiner. I am not wearing it with pride tho. It hurts like the dickens.  Last night I went into my nightly ritual getting ready for bed. I awoke during the night before with chills, fever and my throat on fire. So all I could really think about last night was crawling into my bed and sleeping. It was when I finally got to the bed that I remembered my house shoes. I knew I would probably need them in the night and so I went to the bathroom to get them. I didn’t turn on the light because I knew right where I left them.  I bent down to get them and hit the metal corner of a chair that sits by my vanity. It got me right on the brow bone and really close to the temple. After I stopped cussing and holding my head, I remembered that I had taken all of my medicine that tends to make me sleepy plus the night time cold/flu medicine. So my b/f decided that I needed to go to the hospital and be checked out.  Now it was already nearly 10:00 and I did not want to go to the ER and wait and wait and wait just for them to tell me not to go to sleep and keep an eye on it and if I started to see double, get dizzy and start throwing up to come back to the ER.  So a friend was called, who called another friend and both showed up to make sure that I was alright or if I really did need to go to the ER. I bitched and moaned enough that they finally decided to go back home and I decided to go to bed. I set my alarm every couple of hours to wake me up. (I slept thru both alarms)…. But I did get up at 4 am to use the bathroom, get a drink of water and let the dogs out. I went back to bed at 4:30 when the dogs came back in. This morning I still have a pretty good egg/knot and my eye is a tad greenish, but it feels much better as long as I don’t touch it.  I guess I have a little flu bug going on because I have still feel like crap. I get cold and hot, then really tired and weak, then I get some energy back and the cycle starts over. I told a friend of mine the other day that this has really been the worse year for me as far as illness’s go. It seems like I have had one bug after another and I know my resistance is down, and sitting in dr. and hospitals these past months with other sick people has not helped since I am exposing myself to all of their germs.  Then again…..  This is the first time in a couple of years or so that I got my flu shot. Is it a coincidence that I now feel fluish? I thought that they didn’t make you sick anymore, that they are made with a synthetic serum instead of the live virus. Well at any rate, I feel like I have the flu.  And with that, I am going to go and lay back down. Try and rest, keep my kleenex close by, and drink more fluids. If I can do that, perhaps I will feel better tomorrow…..

Leave a Reply

